INDEPENDENCE COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES February 20, 2023

Vice Chairman Val DeFever opened the meeting at 5:30 p.m.

DeFever welcomed guests attending Patti Snyder, John Eubanks, Jeri Hammerschmidt, J. Spencer Weaver, Paul Molnar, Gunner Jones, Kolby Kastler, Tucker Engstrom, Elizabeth Clapp, Tori Kreusch, Isha Hill, Molly Gray, Haley Lewis, Corbin Thomsen, Braelyn George, Artemus Montgomery, Joel Williams, Ben Seel, Dee Molnar, David Adams, Taylor Crawshaw, Heather Mydosh, Kris Ferguson, Benny Eubanks, Lori Boots, Isaiah McCaffery, Collin W., Scott Gales, Jason & Jennifer Williams, Tim Maclaskey, Val DeFever and Vincent Bowhay were present. Chairman Cynthia Sherwood was absent.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by J. Spencer Weaver.

The Mission Statement was read by Jeri Hammerschmidt.

The Vision Statement was read by J. Spencer Weaver.

On the Consent Agenda DeFever requested any discussion and/or changes. With no discussion and/or changes, John Eubanks motioned to approve; Patti Snyder seconded. Motion carried 5-0.

In new business, with no discussion on payables, John Eubanks motioned to approve; J. Spencer Weaver seconded. Motion carried 5-0.

Taylor Crawshaw discussed the Vet Nursing Equipment for Vet Tech. With no discussion, Patti Snyder motioned to approve; John Eubanks seconded. Motion carried 5 – 0.

Dr. Vincent Bowhay addressed the group on the 2023-2024 Early Retirement Policy. With no discussion, John Eubanks motioned to approve; Spencer Weaver seconded. 5-0.

Bowhay discussed the need to appoint two trustees to the Faculty Negotiations Board. Vice Chairman, Val DeFever suggested that Jeri Hammerschmidt and Patti Snyder serve on this team. J. Spencer Weaver motioned to approve; John Eubank seconded. Motion carried 5 – 0.

Dr. Isaias McCaffery gave a brief update on Faculty Senate.

DeFever requested that the report segment of the meeting pause for Jennifer Williams to speak to the board on DEI for two minutes.

Paul Molnar introduced a few ICC students who attended the KCACTF Conference. Three students (Corbin Thomsen, Braelyn George, and Artemus Montgomery) addressed the board regarding what they learned from the conference and while the remaining students gave an update on their plans after attending the conference. Scott Gales with Architect One updated the Board on the Campus Facilities Master Plan.

Dr. Vincent Bowhay reminded the Board of the upcoming President's Luncheon. Bowhay also reminded trustees whose positions are expiring should register if they plan to run for trustee in the upcoming election.

DeFever requested a motion to adjourn. John Eubanks motioned to adjourn; J. Spencer Weaver seconded. Motion carried 5-0.

Cherie Stockton	
Board Clerk	